Wednesday, January 27, 2010

44 Stops to Super Bowl XLIV: No. 26-30

The "44 Stops to Super Bowl XLIV" is a series that will feature stories, stats and interesting trivia that you can use to act smart as you prepare for Super Bowl XLIV. I've done this on SPORTZASSASSIN.COM for Super Bowls XL, XLI, XLIII and for AOL's FanHouse for Super Bowl XLII.

#26-UNDERCOVER BOSS: The trend now is for the network broadcasting the Super Bowl loves breaking in new shows or extended shows following the game. CBS will debut "Undercover Boss" after Super Bowl XLIV. It joins Extreme (ABC-1995), Homicide (NBC-'93), Davis Rules (ABC-'91), Grand Slam (CBS-'90), The Wonders Years (ABC-'88), Hard Copy (CBS-'87), The Last Precinct (NBC-'86), MacGruder and Loud (ABC-'85), Airwolf (CBS-'84), The A-Team (NBC-'83) and Brothers and Sisters (NBC-'79) as shows who debuted after the Super Bowl.

Some other big-time heavyweights have also appeared right after the game. Lassie, All in the Family, 60 Minutes, CHiPs, Archie Bunker's Place, Friends, The X-Files, The Simpsons, Survivor, Grey's Anatomy, House and The Office all have been post-Super Bowl shows.

#27-PEYTON'S BAAAAACK: Peyton Manning will be the 18th quarterback to start multiple Super Bowls. John Elway leads the pack with 5 Super Bowls, while Terry Bradshaw, Tom Brady, Joe Montana, Jim Kelly and Roger Staubach have all started four. Only Craig Morton and Kurt Warner have started Super Bowls for two different teams.

#28-FUTURE SUPER BOWL SITES ARE PRETTY INTERESTING: No team has ever played a Super Bowl in their home stadium. It really is remarkable that this has never happened. Well, it could happen soon.

Both Indianapolis (XLVI) and New Orleans (XLVII) will be hosting games soon. Next year the game is in Cowboys Stadium. Dallas just won the NFC East and the franchise has been to more Super Bowls than any other team.

#29-CBS SETS A RECORD: CBS will be televising their 17th Super Bowl. That breaks a tie with NBC (16 times). ABC has shown 7 Super Bowls; FOX has televised 5. FOX will show the game next year with NBC tying CBS with their 17th telecast in 2012.

#30-ROOKIE HEAD COACH: Colts head coach Jim Caldwell is just the fifth rookie head coach to take his team to the Super Bowl. The last rookie who did it was Bill Callahan with the Raiders in Super Bowl XXXVII. The last rookie coach to win was George Seifert in Super Bowl XXIV (Niners over Broncos). The other rookie coaches to take their teams to the big games are Red Miller (Broncos, SB XII) and Don McCafferty (Colts, SB V). McCafferty, like Seifert, won his appearance.

No comments: