Just a quick recap of what I saw in my Sportz Room -- filled with TVs that I can watch all games going on at the same time.
GAME OF THE DAY: Purdue vs Texas. Texas was on a roll and trying to be the latest First Four team to find a path to the Final Four. The game was back and forth all night with Texas tying the game late with a layup and an and-one. But the stick back by the Boilermakers with less than a second remaining gave Purdue the big win.
UPSET OF THE DAY: Iowa vs Nebraska. Iowa vs Nebraska seems like a nice October college football game and not a matchup in the Sweet 16. But here we are, watching two neighboring states fight it out for a spot in the regional finals. Like Purdue-Texas, this game was back and forth with the Cornhuskers seemingly taking control of the game late. But the Hawkeyes have been so clutch this tournament, eeking by for their first Elite 8 appearance since 1987.
CONFERENCE OF THE DAY: BIG TEN. No doubt. The Big Ten went 3-1 on the day, with the lone loss coming to another Big Ten school. With Illinois and Iowa (yeah, I just wrote that) dueling in the South Regional final, the Big Ten is guaranteed at least one team in the Final Four. Purdue has already advanced to the next round, while Michigan is the No. 1 seed in the Midwest and Michigan State faces UConn on Friday. There is a chance that the Big Ten could get all four Final Four spots, guaranteeing the league their first national champion in 26 years.
CONFERENCE WITH A BAD DAY: SEC. The SEC had multiple teams got down, with Arkansas and Texas bowing out of the dance. Both were underdogs, with Texas the lone real Cinderella remaining. The SEC now has just Alabama and Tennessee remaining, and both are underdogs on Friday night.
DUD OF THE DAY: Arizona vs Arkansas. It was worth watching, mainly to see the Wildcats brilliance and some chippy plays and technical fouls later in the game, but this was a snoozer that didn't live up to the hype. Arizona is among the favorites to cut down the nets, but Arkansas entered the tournament on a nice run, winning the SEC tournament and beginning to find their stride. But Arizona was so dominant and owned this game.
DOMINANT PERFORMANCE OF THE DAY: Arizona vs Arkansas. There was nothing Arkansas could do to stop Arizona.
UNDERLYING STORYLINE OF THE DAY: Big Ten's performance. The Big Ten has finally flexed their muscle in this tournament. Of the 12 teams remaining, 5 are from the Big Ten and two will play for the South Region final. The one scratch on the performance was Nebraska having just four players on the court for a key play late in the game that ended up costing the Huskers a chance to advance.
With the NBA looking to place an expansion team back in Seattle, the Oklahoma City Thunder are going through with the agreement of giving Seattle back the SuperSonics history. When the Sonics moved to OKC and rebranded, the agreement was that all the branding, colors, banners and name stays in Seattle but the two organizations will share the Sonics history going forward. The Thunder will effectively chop that history off, give it back to Seattle, and become a team who was birthed in 2008.
That makes sense. The Thunder have created a nice history that includes their own NBA championship, two Finals appearances, and three separate MVP winners. The Sonics will then own their history of 1967-2008 and then when the team comes back. Seems fair.
This isn't the only time we've seen this. In the NBA, the Charlotte Hornets relocated to New Orleans and remained the Hornets in 2002. In 2004, Charlotte was awarded a new franchise called the Bobcats ... but the New Orleans Hornets kept that Hornets past ... because they didn't rebrand. When they rebranded as the Pelicans in 2013, there was some pushing and pulling that allowed Charlotte to get back the Hornets name and, in turn, the Hornets history when they were in Charlotte. So the New Orleans Pelicans history begins in 2002 when they got the team and the Charlotte Hornets history goes from 1988-2002 and then 2004-present. It was a successful ... albeit a bit messy ... resolution.
And easier example was when the Cleveland Browns relocated to Baltimore in 1996, the Ravens became a brand new franchise while Cleveland kept everything for their new team in 1999.
Seeing this Sonics/Thunder swapping makes me think we should have some more of these happening across the four major leagues. Now, that doesn't mean every city that used to have a team can get its history back ... but there are a few examples that I'd like to see change out.
So ... NO ... the Minnesota Timberwolves will not get back the Minneapolis Lakers history. The franchise kept the branding and name when they moved to Los Angeles.
WINNIPEG JETS
A simple one is the Winnipeg Jets. The Jets were an WHL team that entered the NHL during the 1979 merger. They stayed in Winnipeg until 1996 when they moved to Arizona and became the Coyotes. Since then, two things have happened. One was Winnipeg got a relocated Atlanta Thrashers franchise in 2011 and renamed them the Jets. The other is that the Arizona Coyotes franchise "moved" to Utah and became the Mammoth in 2024. The Coyotes are no longer a franchise and are considered defunct, and the Utah franchise is considered a new entity.
So no one is really using that Jets history from 1972-1996. It's dead. Sure, if Arizona ever gets a team again, they would kinda sorta get it back ... but why?
Let the Jets get that history back. Let their history begin in 1972-1996, then inherit the Thrashers and new Jets history from 1999-present. Seems rather simple. They can get their old logo back (even if for just throwbacks) and have their complete history. As for Arizona, if they ever do get another NHL team, they get to keep those Arizona years (which is the plan) from 1996-2024.
Simple.
HOUSTON OILERS
This one won't happen because it has already been an awkward mess that has only gotten worse recently. A quick history: The Houston Oilers (born in 1960) moved to Tennessee and were the Tennessee Oilers in 1997 for two years before rebranding as the Titans in 1999. Houston was awarded a franchise in 2002 that is named the Texans.
Since then, things have been contentious between the two organizations. The Titans hold the Oilers history and have no plans to ever let Houston have any of it back. So much so that the Titans have even wore Oilers "throwback" gear in games versus the Texans. The fact the two teams are division rivals makes things even more tense.
Now, in 2026, the Titans have overhauled their brand and are using the Oilers colors and uniform style. Of course, it's completely their right since they do own the Oilers history ... but it would be nice if it could switch over to Houston.
The power conference rule the Sweet 16 and we've watched at Cinderella never made it to the ball. Of all the memorable upsets in the 2026 tournament -- and there weren't that many -- really only High Point popping Wisconsin is in the tradition of a typical Cinderella upset.
So the narrative has been that NIL and the transfer portal have moved the little guy out of the equation. Sure, there may be some truth to that thinking. The transfer portal moreso, as it has allowed the best players from the mid-majors the ability to develop and become prospects for bigger programs. Now the power schools have the mid-majors' top players and the mid-majors lack the experience and talent that typically were paramount for those NCAA tournament upsets.
But that's not the only reason for the lack of upsets in this tournament, and to pin everything on NIL and the transfer portal is a bit short sighted.
CONFERENCE EXPANSION
The power confererences are much bigger now and much more condensed. The ACC has 18 schools. So does the Big Ten. The SEC and Big 12 have 16 schools each. The Big East is up to 11 schools.
Sure, some of that expansion has been due to the implosion of the Pac-12, but not all of it. SMU, BYU, Cincinnati, UCF, Houston, Butler, Xavier and Creighton used to be mid-major schools that have become power schools over the past decade or so. SMU, BYU, UCF and Houston are all in this tournament. There used to be 72 power schools across the then-power six leagues. Now there are 79 ... including Houston, who has become a hoops power of late.
Having 18-team leagues means we will have teams with poor conference records finding their way into the dance. That's why a team like Auburn was seriously considered for an at-large bid despite their pedestrian record. SMU got an at-large berth despite going 8-10 in the ACC. Four teams with a better ACC record didn't get in. Iowa, who is in the Sweet 16, was 10-10 in Big Ten play.
And while the Pac-12 may see its schools in the ACC, Big 12 and Big Ten, the consolidation of that talent helps raising the schedules and metrics of all those schools. Former Pac-12 schools Arizona and UCLA were the only ones to make this tournament, but both help lift up the schedules and metrics of others in their leagues. And that's important to note because of ...
NET RANKINGS
The NET rankings have a lot to do with this as well. The NET has become the latest metric that everyone leans on to determine not only who makes the tournament but where they are seeded. That tends to hurt mid-majors not only when it comes to the bubble but how the bracket is seeded. While the NET is absolutely far from perfect, it is the best we've had at attempting to slot how good teams really are. When teams are seeded properly, you lack quirkiness of seeding issues that could make for a mid-major school to upset a power school.
The NET has also introduced the "Quad" system. By now you all know the deal: Quad wins are not only who you beat but where you beat them. And those power conferences get many more opportunities to pile up Quad 1 and 2 wins than their mid-major counterparts. North Carolina went, like, 1-12 in Quad 1 games last season which was enough to slide them into the tournament. Meanwhile, Miami-OH's lack of Quad 1 games ... let alone wins ... put them into the First Four and an 11th seed.
In the past, Miami-OH likely would have been seeded higher than an 11 just off their 31-1 record. Metrics said otherwise. So Miami ended up playing a 6-seed in the first round instead of, say, a 9 of 10 seed. Honestly, the metrics should have kept Miami-OH out of the tournament altogether, but the public cry to include a team that went undefeated during the regular season made it all but a rubber stamp.
The NET and Quads is what kept Auburn in the bubble discussions. In the past, it would deemed ridiculous for that to be the case.
MID-MAJOR CONFERENCE TOURNAMENTS
Understand this: each conference determines who gets their automatic bid to the NCAA tournament. It just so happens that all of them decide to have their conference tournament champion earn the automatic bid. Conferences could have their regular season champ get the AQ (automatic qualifier) ... which should be their best team over a four month period ... but those leagues really want that TV money from having ESPN or CBS televising their conference tournaments.
Having said that, the mid-majors don't always put their best representative out there into the tournament. While that makes the conference tournaments fun, it can hurt the NCAA tournament.
Belmont, Navy, Austin Peay, UNC-Wilmington, Liberty, Merrimack, and Stephen F. Austin had dominant seasons for their conferences but lost in their postseason tournaments. Another dominant mid-major won their league and made an impression in the NCAA field -- High Point.
Maybe mid-majors need to adopt the formula that the WCC, OVC and American conferences have done and have a step ladder tournament that rewards the best teams with byes. Lots of byes.
In the WCC, the top two teams in the standings are automatically in the semifinals. Meaning they are two wins away from winning their conference championship and the AQ that comes with it. That has done pretty well for them, as it all but assured Gonzaga or Saint Mary's is in the tournament and reduces the risk of some wild game knocks them out.
Obviously that isn't fool-proof since those top seeds can still be beaten, but it makes it much less likely to give your best team some rest while they take on a team that's been playing in those step ladder games to get to you. That gives a greater probability for those league's best teams of getting in and having a better shot to win games in the tournament.
By the way: the top seed in the American, OVC and WCC all won their tournaments.
While discussions are ongoing at North Carolina about the future of the program and the status of head coach Hubert Davis, here are a few points people may want to consider during this time and going forward.
I'm not going to litigate whether he should be hired or fired here. Everyone has their opinion on that and I've given mine already. Just some of the things surrounding this move that isn't just a typical hiring and firing of a head coach.
*THE FAMILY ASPECT: Obviously one of the charms of the Tar Heels basketball program is the fact that the family atmosphere is a real thing. Dean Smith was an assistant for Frank McGuire when he took the job in 1961. He handed it over to his assistant, Bill Guthridge, in 1997. Guthridge retired, and former player Matt Doherty got the job in 2000. Doherty "resigned" in 2003, and former assistant and UNC alum Roy Williams left Kansas for the job. Williams retired in 2021 and the job was given to his assistant and former player Hubert Davis.
So since 1961, the job has been awarded to someone with ties to the program. If Davis is "removed" from his job as is the expectation, it is extremely doubtful someone with ties to the program will be the next head coach.
To many, this is a shock to the system ... especially since Davis has constructed his program where darn near everyone is a UNC alum. All of his assistant coaches played at North Carolina. All of their wives attended North Carolina. The GM and many people attached to the basketball team went to the school.
But let's not pretend that is completely normal. Smith was willing to hire outside guys for his assistants, including bringing in Guthridge from Kansas State in 1967. When Doherty took over in 2001, he brought his own assistants who weren't UNC guys. Roy Williams brought over his Kansas staff who had no ties to North Carolina.
Sure, all of the head coaches were Carolina guys in some form, but it is acceptable to look elsewhere for someone to build this program back to a perennial championship contender. That person will, by nature, be able to merge his culture with the Carolina culture and create something great. Ex-players want the program to be successful and will be willing to embrace someone who embraces them.
The 66 years of the "Dean Smith" era may end with who is the guy running the show on the bench, but his influence will still be a massive and valuable asset to whomever gets the job.
*CELEBRATING HUBERT DAVIS: Pretty much everyone loves Hubert Davis the man and absolutely hates that we have come to this point. As disappointed as I am about where the program is right now, I still feel bad that Davis is having to go though all of this. Yet, that's the nature of the job you sign up for and Davis (who played in the NBA for several teams) is fully aware of.
No one who cares about the program likes this. So how this is done is very tricky and needs to be done in as compassionate a way as possible. That's why Davis has not been fired and likely won't be fired ... even though we all know he's getting fired. Remember, Doherty wasn't fired either. Who knows exactly how it will end up looking like, but it won't be a clean break.
We also need to understand that while Davis may not be the right coach at North Carolina to uphold the standard this program demands, he isn't a bad coach who did nothing during his five years as head coach. We will aways remember that run in 2022 where Davis' Heels went into Cameron Indoor Stadium and beat Duke on Mike Krzyzewski Night in front of 100 of his former players. We will also remember the Final Four win over Duke that ended Coach K's career and gave Carolina a massive card to play in rivalry smack.
Davis' teams never cratered like Doherty's teams did in 2001-2002 or even that horrendous Roy Williams season of 2019-2020. He had good seasons ... even if it most weren't great. And while the reasons for moving on from him are valid and up for discussion, there were some really good times over the last five years as well. Hopefully that will be celebrated forever.
*THE BELICHICK SITUATION: This may not be the best point to make right now, but the university went all in on Bill Belichick a year ago. Whether or not it is working or not isn't the point of this ... but what is will be the financial aspects of this hiring. The boosters and the school has promised to upgrade the resources not only to hire Belichick but to put the program how he wants it to be. That means financial promises have been made, and as we saw in Year 1, this may not be a long term agreement that works out well for the school.
The point is that if Belichick is the coach, he and his staff are being paid a lot to be there and the money needed to fund the program will be there. If he isn't the coach, there is a hefty buyout that will go with that, along with being able to pay for a new coach that can make the program better while not breaking the bank.
So as these discussions about Hubert Davis are ongoing, money is a factor. Both in buying out Davis' contract, but also hiring the big name coach you want to come and likely paying for that coach's buyout at his former school. That's a big ask for boosters and the financial powers around the school to do simultaneously. It may not stop Davis from being removed or a big name coach to be hired, but it is stretching the wallet, so to speak.
*A NEW ATHLETIC DIRECTOR: Remember that North Carolina will be transitioning athletic directors very soon, as Bubba Cunningham is taking on a new role while Steve Newmark will be the new AD this summer. So it makes sense that the new guy will have major input on the men's basketball job and its future.
*RIPPING THE BAND AID OFF: This may be the first of a few hard choices that the powers that be at North Carolina will have to make that will bring a shock to the fanbase's system. Yet it may be the perfect way to begin the future of the Tar Heels' athletics programs in the way that benefits everyone ... with the damage coming to nostalgia and history.
What I am about to say I don't take lightly. I was someone who wanted the nostalgia to continue and want the ways I remember Carolina basketball and the ACC were in the 1980s, 1990s and into the current century to continue forever. But over the last few years I have accepted that change is probably the right thing, and hiring a coach from outside the Carolina family will be the start that may allow these other changes to land a tad bit easier.
Two major things hovering over the program are coming to a head. The most obvious one is the future of the arena. The Dean Smith Center is a cathedral, but it is outdated and is leaving UNC behind when it comes to revenue. Like it or not, it is a reality in college basketball today and having a 40-year old building that lacks the amenities that modern arenas have really hiders the potential of this program.
I haven't picked a side on this debate yet, because I do understand every side of it. But I feel that the administration wanted to build a state-of-the-art arena off campus and was set to do so until the blowback from the community and former players was so great. Now there is a delicate situation occurring about trying to figure out what the program wants and needs that satisfies the most people possible. Still, making a move like this with a new basketball coach could be the "tearing off the band-aid" that shows the community that change can be good.
The other decision coming down the road will be North Carolina's membership in the ACC. I don't think the timing of anything the athletic department has done or is doing is by accident. A new arena, trying to build a football program, and setting up the flagship sport at the school with the best coach possible is the shiny suit UNC wants to be wearing when the broadcast rights for many conferences are up for grabs in the next decade. North Carolina has been very political with its stance on its status as a member of the ACC while schools like Florida State and Clemson have been much, much louder. Make no mistake -- North Carolina is eying the landscape and is preparing itself for a move to the SEC or Big Ten when the next wave a realignment comes up in the 2030s. Remember that UNC was one of the schools who voted against having Stanford, Cal and SMU join the league a couple of years ago. They will be willing to jump to a new league and for all its riches when the Grant of Rights price falls sharply and the Tar Heels will be attractive free agents of sorts.
Just a quick recap of what I saw in my Sportz Room -- filled with TVs that I can watch all games going on at the same time.
GAME OF THE DAY: Iowa vs Florida What a game and what an ending led to what a shocker. Florida was the buzz team entering the tournament, attempting to win consecutive national championships, but was felled by a Hawkeyes team who is hitting on all cylinders offensively and defensively. The game had some controversy, as a disputed "punch" that didn't happen allowed Alvaro Folgueiras to hit the game winning three with second remaining.
UPSET OF THE DAY: Iowa vs Florida. With not many upsets happening in this round, the Hawkeyes ousting the Gators was a shocker to the system and the first real major upset in this tournament.
CONFERENCE OF THE DAY: BIG TEN. A day after going 4-0 in the tournament, the Big Ten won both their games on Sunday to put six teams in the Sweet 16. Not only did Purdue hold off Miami to advance, but Iowa pulled off a major upset, toppling the first No. 1 seed.
CONFERENCE WITH A BAD DAY: ACC. The ACC lost both their games on Sunday, making Duke their lone representative in the Sweet 16. One of the losses was a seed upset, as No. 3 Virginia lost to Tennessee in a game the Cavaliers spent most of the game playing from behind.
DUD OF THE DAY: Tennessee vs Miami-OH. After Miami-OH's outstanding performance over SMU in the First Four, everyone was waiting to see what this team could do against a really good Tennessee team. Well, it didn't go very well. The Redhawks were overmatched early and this was never a game. The Volunteers understood to not take Miami-OH lightly, and they overwhelmed the Redhawks.
DOMINANT PERFORMANCE OF THE DAY: Alabama vs Texas Tech. When filling out my bracket, this was a tough one to pick. Both teams would be missing one of their best players and each has shown the ability to have high ceiling and low floors. Well, we saw the Crimson Tide's ceiling at the same time we saw the Red Raiders' floor. The Tide hit 19 of 42 (!!!) threes while the Raiders missed 21 of their 25 shots from behind the arc.
UNDERLYING STORYLINE OF THE DAY: Flavorful Sweet 16. Much has been made about the lack of Cinderellas, blowouts and power conferences dominating this tournament ... but what that does is give us a really compelling week of basketball. The Sweet 16 gives us Duke-St. John's, UConn-Michigan State, Houston-Illinois, Arizona-Arkansas, Michigan-Alabama, Purdue-Texas, Iowa State-Tennessee and Nebraska-Iowa. That includes the conference tournament champions of the ACC, Big East, SEC, Big Ten and Big 12 ... all of the power five conferences. You have these coaches: Rick Pitino, Danny Hurley, Tom Izzo, John Calipari, Kelvin Sampson, Jon Scheyer, Brad Underwood, Dusty May, Nate Oates, Matt Painter, Rick Barnes, Sean Miller, T.J. Otzelberger, Tommy Lloyd, Ben McCollum and Fred Hoiberg. Wow! Of those coaches, 10 of them have reached a Final Four and four of them have won national championships.
Just a quick recap of what I saw in my Sportz Room -- filled with TVs that I can watch all games going on at the same time.
GAME OF THE DAY: Nebraska vs Vanderbilt. To have these two programs play with a Sweet 16 berth on the line was great for the NCAA tournament. While much has been made about the lack of Cinderellas (read: mid-major representation) it is nice to see programs who aren't seen as powers who reside in power conferences play for something important. This game lived up to what a 4-5 matchup should be. Back and forth with big shots and the biggest rolling around the rim and falling out. Nebraska had never won a tournament game when the week started and now they're in the Sweet 16.
UPSET OF THE DAY: Texas vs Gonzaga. Texas is the latest First Four team to win three games and reach the Sweet 16. Gonzaga had a great season, entering the game 31-3, but was overwhelmed by a Longhorns team that is streaking at the right time. Graham Ike dropped 25 points for the Zags but the rest of the team had an off day and wilted late in the game. Texas moves on.
CONFERENCE OF THE DAY: BIG TEN. The Big Ten won half of the games played on Saturday, going 4-0 and instantly becoming a quarter of the Sweet 16. Michigan and Illinois dominated, while Michigan State controlled their game against Louisville. With Nebraska's win, the Big Ten had one of the best second round days in quite some time. With Purdue and Iowa playing on Sunday, the league has a chance to put six teams in the next round.
CONFERENCE WITH A BAD DAY: Atlantic 10. VCU and Saint Louis pulled off epic upsets on Thursday night, with the Rams making a massive comeback to beat North Carolina while the Billikens absolutely spanked Georgia. Neither team was in their second round games, as VCU didn't have any juice left for Illinois and Michigan flexing all over Saint Louis. The A-10 is a really good lead and among the top mid-major conferences, but sees their season end today.
DUD OF THE DAY: Michigan vs Saint Louis. I don't think anyone believed Michigan would go down in this game, but after Thursday's showing we all wanted to see that high scoring Billikens team show up once again. It didn't. Robbie Avila ... the man with 1,000 nicknames ... had a bad afternoon, scoring just 9 points on 3-of-13 shooting.
DOMINANT PERFORMANCE OF THE DAY: Houston vs Texas A&M. Texas A&M isn't in Houston's class, but no one expected the Aggies to get absolutely pummeled in this game. The Cougars jumped on A&M early and never let up, making this a snoozer fairly quickly.
UNDERLYING STORYLINE OF THE DAY: Big Ten's performance. The Big Ten has earned a reputation for not truly showing up in the NCAA tournament. They haven't won this even since Michigan State cut down the nets in 2000 ... though they've been runner up several times since. Now, reaching the Sweet 16 isn't winning a title just yet, but the way the league's teams have performed so far in this tournament, they do look like they have a few candidates to do some damage over the next two weekends.
Just a quick recap of what I saw in my Sportz Room -- filled with TVs that I can watch all games going on at the same time.
GAME OF THE DAY: Kentucky vs Santa Clara. The ending of this game was insane. Big shots from both sides, including a 50-footer by Kentucky to tie the game and send it into overtime. These are the kinds of games you love to watch if you have no rooting interest in either team. Otega Oweh's shot will likely be the best play of this entire tournament.
UPSET OF THE DAY: Utah State vs Villanova. There were no upsets really today. All the betting favorites won, even though two of them were No. 9 seeds. But to see Utah State come back and beat Villanova -- a Big East team -- seems like the most obvious "upset".
CONFERENCE OF THE DAY: BIG 12. The Big 12 went 4-0 on the day, with Arizona, Kansas, Texas Tech and Iowa State all winning their games ... with only Kansas having any trouble disposing their opponent. The Big Ten went 3-0 while the SEC went 4-1.
CONFERENCE WITH A BAD DAY: MAC. Both Miami-OH and Akron lost their games on Friday, ending the magical season for both the league's regular season and tournament champions. The difficult part is both were blown out (though Akron put up more of a fight). Mid-majors in general had an awful day, but the MAC went out with a whimper.
DUD OF THE DAY: Tennessee vs Miami-OH. After Miami-OH's outstanding performance over SMU in the First Four, everyone was waiting to see what this team could do against a really good Tennessee team. Well, it didn't go very well. The Redhawks were overmatched early and this was never a game. The Volunteers understood to not take Miami-OH lightly, and they overwhelmed the Redhawks.
DOMINANT PERFORMANCE OF THE DAY: Florida vs Prairie View. There were a few blowouts on Friday, but none like what Florida did to Prairie View A&M. The Gators chomped their way to a 114-55 victory ... one of the largest margins of victory in the history of the NCAA tournament. Florida looks ready to defend its title and has a chip on their shoulder after losing to Vanderbilt in the SEC tournament.
UNDERLYING STORYLINE OF THE DAY: Favorites dominate the day. Yesterday I remarked that it is interesting to follow the narrative that NIL and the transfer portal has been bad for the Cinderella role in the NCAA tournament. Well, Friday certainly held that line of thinking. The betting favorite went 16-0 on Day 2 of the tournament, with no double-digit seeds winning. Sure, all four of the No. 9 seeds won their games, but those are hardly any upsets. Of the four double-digit seeds to win over the last two days, two of them (Texas, Texas A&M) are SEC schools, VCU and High Point. All four play on Saturday.
Just a quick recap of what I saw in my Sportz Room -- filled with TVs that I can watch all games going on at the same time.
GAME OF THE DAY: VCU vs North Carolina. The Tar Heels went up 19 points and seemed to be cruising into the second round of the tournament. Then the final 8 minutes of regulation happened that was as head-scratching as you could get from a program like this. Turnovers, bad defense, and curious decisions allowed VCU to mount a massive comeback that sets the record for the Round of 64. VCU's rabid comeback and the weird plays that followed into overtime set the stage for a chaotic tournament.
UPSET OF THE DAY: High Point vs Wisconsin. Wisconsin was pretty hot coming into the tournament, so getting bounced by High Point was pretty shocking. The Badgers were the highest seed to lose today, busting several brackets. The sight of High Point's Chase Johnston breaking out for his first two point basket ... of the season ... to win the game for the Panthers was one of the best of this tournament thus far.
CONFERENCE OF THE DAY: SEC. The Big Ten had a lot of winners, but it was the SEC's day. Arkansas blew out Hawaii, Texas upset BYU and Texas A&M upset Saint Mary's. Georgia did look absolutely awful against Saint Louis, but the two bid upsets showed the depth of this league.
CONFERENCE WITH A BAD DAY: ACC. The losses were spread around quite a bit -- with the Big Ten losing twice -- but the ACC had a rough one. Only North Carolina lost, but they blew a 19 point lead in doing so. Duke was on the ropes against Siena while Louisville nearly blew a huge lead against South Florida. Add in NC State and SMU losing in the First Four and the ACC hasn't had the great start to this tournament.
DUD OF THE DAY: Nebraska vs Troy. I need to mention Nebraska winning its first NCAA tournament game. I felt that Troy was going to give the Huskers a game today, with the pressure of finally winning a tournament game (the lone power school not to) possible making Nebraska tight for this one. That wasn't the case, as the Cornhuskers let it rip all game and punished the Trojans, 76-47.
DOMINANT PERFORMANCE OF THE DAY: Saint Louis vs Georgia. I came into the week feeling this would be a fun matchup in the 8-9 game, but it never was that. The Billikens jumped all over the Dawgs and made this a laugher right off the jump. Saint Louis is a dangerous team for Michigan on Saturday.
UNDERLYING STORYLINE OF THE DAY: Blowouts. There is a narrative that the NCAA tournament has changed due to the transfer portal taking the best players from the mid-majors and hoarding them for themselves, so I've been interested to see if that manifests this tournament. We saw a lot of blowouts on Thursday. Seven of the 16 games played were decided by 19 or more points. Five games were decided by at least 25 points. Two were 30 point blowouts. That mirrors last year's output on Day 1.
Hubert Davis is the kind of person you want to lead your basketball program. He's the nicest guy who loves the North Carolina program the same way that Roy Williams did. He cares so much about the Carolina Family that all his coaches are alums. As a player, he wasn't a big time recruit yet built himself into a great scorer and eventually a first round NBA draft pick. He's a great representative of North Carolina basketball.
Too bad he doesn't coach like that.
The Tar Heels lost to VCU in the first round of the NCAA tournament tonight, 82-78, in overtime. Typically one game shouldn't determine your job, but there may be no game that encapsulates the Hubert Davis era than this one. A blown lead marred by late game mistakes, missed free throws and a determination to run his players into the ground.
Again, this isn't just about one game. Since Davis took over in the 2021-2022 season, North Carolina has entered the NCAA tournament like this:
Add in the final two seasons of the Roy Williams era (would've missed the NCAA tournament in 2020 if COVID didn't cancel it; 8 seed that was blown out in 2021) and this has been a horrible stretch of Carolina basketball. Amazing, since the 2016-2019 stretch featured two national championship game appearances -- including the 2017 national title -- a 2 seed and a 1 seed. It hasn't looked like that since.
Carolina has lost 3 of their last 4 NCAA tournament games, with the lone win coming over San Diego State in the First Four last season. Before COVID, the Tar Heels were 31-1 in first round games (the Round of 64). Since, they are 2-3 ... with two of those losses coming in the last two years. This is the first time EVER that Carolina lost its final regular season game, only ACC tournament game, and only NCAA tournament game. A horrible 0-3 stretch that featured losses to Duke, Clemson and VCU that all featured massive runs from their opponents that ultimately sunk the Heels. come
North Carolina now owns one of the largest comeback losses in NCAA tournament history and the largest in program history. They also own the largest comeback loss in NCAA championship history when they gave up a 16-point lead to Kansas to choke away the 2022 title.
This isn't the standard at North Carolina. If Hubert Davis was virtually anyone else, he'd be fired right now. It was unacceptable with Matt Doherty was in Chapel Hill and its unacceptable now.
Sure, all-everything Caleb Wilson's injury crushed UNC's hopes on the season. He was an electric player that, honestly, may be Carolina's best NBA player since Vince Carter and Antawn Jamison entered the league in 1998. But the Heels were up on VCU by 19 points in this game and reverted to the same flaws that have plagued the Davis era. There were boneheaded turnovers ... including a unfathomable five-second call at the end of the game. Missed free throws. An opponent getting loose for a career day (something so frustrating about Davis). And an unwillingness to substitute and get his guys some rest. All of that spilled all over the floor in Greenville for the world to see what Carolina fans have watched for five years.
The Tar Heels have struggled all season with these issues ... issues that have plagued the Heels for years. UNC has choked away big leads, even if they ultimately won the game. It's been a running joke that someone on every opponent turns in a career day against the Heels. But it was the meltdown at the end of the VCU game that really hit home. Not being able to hang onto the ball, missing easy shots, a five second inbounds penalty, not knowing how to miss a free throw properly, and abandoning the principles that got you the 19-point lead to begin with. When you get to March, those kinds of mistakes should not happen yet they were amplified tonight. When it comes to March, a coach should not have to resort to not substituting because he doesn't trust the team he built.
I'm not one of those guys that have barked for Davis' job. I've tried to lean in on the "he's learning on the job and will get this" thinking for a few years now. Maybe the legendary run of the 2022 season had me blind. Beating Duke on Coach K night in Cameron and then ending Mike Krzyzewski's career at the Final Four in New Orleans will be one of the greatest feats any Carolina coach achieved. But nothing has looked anything close to that since. I've had moments where I have began to move off that stance (most notably the west coast swing earlier this season), but I've now arrived at this feeling. No matter what kind of roster Davis assembles this offseason, I just don't trust that he will be able to maximize it anymore. I saw him sink a preseason No. 1 team in 2022-2023 and waste away the the 2024-2025 season. I saw him bring in high profile transfers that didn't pan out (Cade Tyson, anyone?).
How can you trust Hubert Davis? I lived my life believing Dean Smith was the smartest coach on the floor and that Roy Williams knew his team better than any coach out there. I don't feel that way about Davis. And there are some rumbling from former players that they may not trust him either. Not enough to put Carolina back where it is supposed to be.
This all comes at a pivotal time for Carolina basketball. A new athletic director takes over very soon. There are heated discussions about what to do with the Dean E. Smith Center -- should it be replaced, renovated or even a new arena off campus. We are just a few years from conference explosions once again as the television contracts will ramp up at the start of the next decade. Will the ACC be able to survive or will North Carolina need to jump to the Big Ten or SEC? Meanwhile, the school down the street has been able to keep their standard of excellence with their former (and young) player who keeps churning out No. 1 seeds and top players.
Carolina isn't holding up to the standard.
Like the arena and the ACC, there may have to be some hard decisions about separating from the past if there is going to be a fruitful future. There is no Roy Williams sitting out there. Unlike when Dean Smith retired in 1997 (or Bill Guthridge retired in 2000 or Doherty's firing in 2002), there isn't a Carolina Family candidate ready to roll to keep this going. All of Dean's guys at that time (George Karl, Larry Brown, Doug Moe) aren't viable for various reasons and Roy Williams didn't exactly leave behind a coaching tree to pluck from. Hubert Davis was it, and that is seemingly failing. The only other option, Wes Miller, showed he wasn't ready for a big job after being fired from Cincinnati.
North Carolina may need to go outside the family to find the coach who can lead it into the future and hold the standard of the past.
When Roy retired in 2021, I was really hoping Gonzaga's Mark Few would take the job. Few is good friends with Roy, a wildly successful coach in a college basketball outpost that could have continued Carolina's winning ways. That is unlikely now, given Few's age and unlikeliness to leave the Zags as they enter the Pac-12. Could UNC lure Al Golden away from Florida? Would Alabama's Nate Oates be an option? How about Iowa State's T.J. Otzelberger? Or one of the up-and-coming coaches who UNC could build a long future with.
Despite saying all of this, I'm doubtful any change will come. Davis is a Carolina guy who is likeable and there are just enough good moments to point to (and a Caleb Wilson injury to use as an excuse) to validate another year of this. But as Carolina fans all over the country have shouted out tonight, most aren't excited about another year of substandard basketball. No one will go into the 2026-2027 season expecting anything different.
There has been a lot of debate this week about Bruce Pearl's take about Miami-OH's basketball team. Here is what he said on air for TNT: “Miami (Ohio), here’s the deal. Are we selecting the 68 most deserving teams? Or are we going to select the 68 best teams? If we’re selecting the 68 best teams, then Miami (Ohio) is going to have to win their tournament to qualify as a champion. Because as an at-large, they are not one of the best teams in the country. And that’s going to be a difficult choice for the committee to make.”
Let me lay a couple of quick context keys for a moment. First, this was when Miami-OH was 29-0. They are now 30-0 with one game left in their regular season and will be heading to the MAC tournament. Two, Pearl's son is the head coach at Auburn -- his former job and a team who is sitting squarely on the bubble. Three, I'm not a big Bruce Pearl guy, but I am defending his stance on this point.
I will also say that Pearl's comment was structured poorly. His point that Miami-OH being one of the 68 teams in order to get in is incorrect, and people need to get over that part of his comment. He knows the NCAA tournament does not invite the best 68 teams and he wasn't stomping for that. He pretty much says as much as his take goes on.
What he is saying is that Miami-OH needs to win the MAC tournament to ensure their spot in the NCAA tournament. If they lose in the MAC tournament, they may not get in as an at-large team.
I don't think that's a wrong take.
Having said that, I don't think there is any way the NCAA tournament selection committee will keep a 1-loss Miami-OH team out of the dance. It just would look bad, even if they have the metrics to back up not including them. It would set off a firestorm that the narrative that middle of the pack power conference teams get to muck up the tournament at the expense of mid-majors is true. Putting a 16-14 Auburn team with a losing SEC record (or any 10th or 11th place power conference team) in ahead of a 31-1 MAC team would look really bad. I would rather see Miami-OH get in ahead of some middle of the road power league team. I really do.
Still, what Pearl said isn't off-based, and it certainly doesn't get the blowback that it has been getting.
Understand that if Miami-OH fails to win the MAC, they will need to receive an at-large bid to get into the dance. There are 31 automatic qualifiers (AQs) that come from conference tournament champions. That leaves 37 at-large bids. Miami-OH would have to be seen as one of the best 37 teams who didn't win their conference tournament. That isn't the slam dunk you think it is.
Let's look at what Miami-OH is right now:
-They are currently 53rd in NET rating. That is a big data point used by the committee. That ranking is between Seton Hall and Belmont. Seton Hall is barely in the bubble conversation while Belmont won't get in unless they win the Missouri Valley Conference tournament. Auburn, by the way, is 39th in NET.
-The only way they won't win a MAC championship is if they ... tah-dah ... lose in the MAC tournament. A loss would mean they lost, and that would knock them down in the NET rating.
-Again, the NET isn't everything as there are teams on the bubble with a worse rating than the Redhawks.
-Miami-OH is 0-0 in Quad 1 games. They are 1-0 in Quad 2 games.
-Miami-OH is 89th in the KenPom rankings. Their strength of schedule is 284th.
-The MAC hasn't had multiple bids in the NCAA tournament since 1999. Miami-OH was one of those teams.
-Miami-OH could lose to Ohio on Friday and lose in the MAC tournament, giving them two losses.
Look, I'm on the side of the little guy having their SOS dragged down because of the league they are in ... but their non-conference schedule was bad, too. You can say that no one will schedule them, but you couldn't find any power conference schools at all? And you had to settle for Milligan, Trinity (IL), Mercyhurst and IU East?
That's what Miami-OH brings to the table -- a flawless record built off a statistically bad schedule. And that is their resume when deciding who the best ... and the key word in Pearl's comments was "best" ... 37 teams among the non-AQs.
So let's do an exercise of what Miami-OH would be going up against.
*Let's knock out all of the AQs right now. There are 31 of them, including 26 mid-major champions. Let's establish that Duke wins the ACC, Michigan wins the Big Ten, Arizona wins the Big 12, Florida wins the SEC and UConn wins the Big East. Also, Miami-OH does not win the MAC ... or else this practice is moot.
*Let's go ahead and assume these schools get at-large bids with basically zero debate: Houston, Iowa State, Kansas, Texas Tech, BYU, Illinois, Purdue, Michigan State, Nebraska, Wisconsin, Alabama, Vanderbilt, Arkansas, Tennessee, Kentucky, Georgia, Virginia, North Carolina, Louisville, St. John's and Villanova. That means 21 schools are locked in. We will also put both Gonzaga and Saint Mary's in ... with one winning the WCC and the other as the at-large. That's 22 at-larges taken.
*Here are a few that aren't locks, but close to it: NC State, Missouri, Clemson, Miami- FL, Iowa and UCF. That means 28 at-large spots are taken.
*That puts 9 spots for everyone else. That's where Miami-OH lives. They live with Ohio State, Texas, Texas A&M, UCLA, SMU, New Mexico, Santa Clara, Indiana, TCU, Auburn, San Diego State, Virginia Tech, VCU, Cincinnati, USC and California. It is conceivable that Miami-OH may not be one of the 9 "best" teams in this mix. That 9 could get smaller if we see some bid stealers in one of the power conferences, the WCC or the Mountain West.
Again, I think Miami-OH gets in ... but what Pearl is saying isn't wrong. Joe Lunardi's latest Bracketology has Miami-OH as an 11-seed right now ... and that's assuming them winning the MAC title. That puts them in a very vulnerable position if they don't win their conference tournament. Which is what Pearl is saying. By the way, Lunardi also has Ohio State, Texas, Texas A&M, UCLA, and SMU as better seeds right now.
Let me start off by saying this: NBA tanking doesn't really bother me much. We have had bad teams in sports ... and the NBA ... forever and that won't change as long as we have sports. There are several reasons why that is, but to keep with the times, one of the NBA's biggest reasons is that it helps snag that one (or two) difference makers that lift up a franchise.
Who wouldn't want to take a giant dump on a season so they could get Shaquille O'Neal, LeBron James, Victor Wembenyama, or Cooper Flagg? That's a no brainer. So while tanking may not be becoming to fans or people who say they care about the game, it is a very wise strategy for a franchise who has no aspirations as a championship contender.
HOW DID WE GET HERE?
That's been the way forever, which is why in 1985 the NBA adopted the lottery format. This came after the 1983 and 1984 drafts where the Houston Rockets were able to get Ralph Sampson and Hakeem Olajuwon as consecutive No. 1 overall picks. To fix that, the NBA had a lottery for non-playoff teams where they all had their names in a big giant ball and David Stern picked them out. The Knicks were picked first, and got to draft Patrick Ewing.
The lottery has changed over the years to curb the tanking that magically continued. It changed the chances teams had in various ways, but the tanking not only keeps going, they actually made it worse. Due to flattening the odds a bit, being one of the four worst records gives you the best shot at nailing down the top pick. So more teams are willing to punt on their season in order to hit it big. We've also seen teams decided to tank making the playoffs (remember the Mavericks a couple of years ago?) in order to get a shot at a top four pick ... which is more meaningful than to be a sacrificial lamb to the best team in the playoffs.
And that works. We've seen the Hawks and Mavericks recently jump all the way up to the No. 1 overall pick, and saw the Spurs jump up a few times to grab a top three pick. So now we not only having the bad teams tanking to be worse, but playoff level teams tank so they can get into the lottery.
Fans and media are now really mad at this, because we are not only seeing bad teams clearly fold their seasons, but good teams sitting their best players so they don't win games. The Washington Wizards, for example, traded for Trae Young and Anthony Davis but are shutting them down for the season so they can get a great draft pick to play alongside them next year. We've watched the Mavericks sort of do the same thing, while the Jazz are sitting healthy players during games. The cries from the fans and talking heads have reached commissioner Adam Silver, who now is promising changes to the format.
WHAT ARE THESE CHANGES
There have been some proposals that I don't think solves the actual problems and will, instead, create different unintended issues. Things ranging from two-year win totals to not being in the lottery consecutive years to keeping good teams that tumble away from the lottery. All of this is stupid and way too complicated to actually work.
Here is what is proposed and what I don't like about them:
*First round picks can only be top 4 or top 14 protected. No. Get rid of protections altogether. If you are going to trade a pick, trade the damn pick. Stop with adding "yeah but if it is a really good pick, we get to keep it" to it. This makes offering picks in trades a bit more risky and less complicated.
*Lottery odds freeze at trade deadline or later date. This is beyond stupid. So you are essentially telling bad teams that they really need to start tanking when the season starts, right? And we will see bad tanking up until this date (and some bad trades made). As sports fans, we are used to teams trying for a good season and it just doesn't happen. Those teams end up playing out the string as crap teams. That's true in every sport. But to have them start off this way is troubling. And do you actually thing that once these odds are established mid-season that these teams will all of the sudden start playing real ball?? No!
*Not allowing teams to have top four pick in consecutive years. Another stupid one. If your goal is to lift up small market franchises, then why do this? The San Antonio Spurs are now a league darling in no small part because they had top four picks in three consecutive seasons. The Los Angeles Lakers had the No. 2 pick in three straight drafts. We got Shaq and Penny like this. Why would you stop that and how does that help these bad teams get better ... if that is what you care about?
*Can't pick in top four the year after reaching the conference finals. This is beyond stupid. We live in the day and age of free agency, max contracts, tax aprons and player enpowerment. We just saw the Dallas Mavericks in the 2024 NBA Finals ... then get the No. 1 pick in the NBA Draft in 2025. That team is back in the lottery for 2026. We saw the Cleveland Cavaliers reach four straight NBA Finals, then LeBron James leaves in free agency and the Cavs crater. So the 2019 Cavs with no LeBron or Kyrie can't get a top four pick? What sense does that make? The 2025 Pacers reached Game 7 of the NBA Finals where their best player shredded his Achilles, and you are saying the horrid 2026 Pacers can't get a top pick? The same league that watched David Robinson have an early season-ending injury turn into Tim Duncan .... that began a nearly 20-year dynasty is a bad thing?
*Lottery based on two-year records. So now we need teams to have a two-year commitment to tanking?
*Lottery extended to all play-in teams. Of all the proposals, this is the one I can sorta get behind. This will keep what Dallas did a few years ago from happening. But this still doesn't solve the problem of teams tanking into this horrible seasons.
*Flatten odds of all lottery teams. Well, I have a bigger plan.
SO WHAT IS YOUR PLAN, SPORTZ?
Put everyone in the lottery. All 30 teams (or their traded picks). Slot each spot, 1 thru 30, in a massive TV event.
How do you stop tanking? You remove the incentive for tanking. You remove the premise that the worst teams get rewarded with the best (and cheap) young talent coming into the NBA. You do that, no team will have any reason to tank.
It is just that simple.
I must say that to get on board with this plan, you need to get your head where my head is already at -- that the habit of sending the best rookies to the league's worst teams is rather pointless. It is like trickle down economics -- the idea sounds good but it doesn't work in practice. It used to do great back in the 1980s and a lot of the 1990s, but it doesn't work like that anymore.
Since 2000, only No. 1 overall picks Kenyon Martin, LeBron James, Dwight Howard, Kyrie Irving and Deandre Ayton reached the Finals with the team that drafted them. Only Kyrie won a title (LeBron left the Cavs for the Heat and then came back to win his title). Of the No. 2 overall picks, only Darko Milicic, Kevin Durant, James Wiseman and Chet Holmgren reached the Finals with the team that drafted him. Of those, only Durant didn't win ... but Milicic and Wiseman had no actual part of their teams winning a ring. Of the No. 3 overall picks, only James Harden, Jaylen Brown, Jayson Tatum, and Luka Doncic reached the Finals with their drafted team (Luka was drafted by the Hawks, but dealt to the Mavs on draft day). Only the duo of Brown and Tatum with the Celtics won a title.
So does snagging the top lottery picks really turn into championships? No. Sure, it may make you better, but teams like the Kings, Wizards, Jazz, Hornets and Pelicans have lived in the lottery and have barely popped their head out of the water. So why is it so important to keep this system going? Why must we keep sending our best incoming players to poorly ran franchises?
The Kings have been bad for over a decade ... and they don't win the lottery. Of all their lottery picks of the last ten years or so, the Kings have dealt away their best ones (Tyrese Haliburton and DeAaron Fox). Why must we keep giving them more chances at this? Hell, when I was growing up, seeing Elgin Baylor represent the Clippers at the lottery was how I tracked the passing years.
So stop it. Every year all 30 teams go into the great big ball and let Adam Silver stick his hand into it and pull out one card that has the name of the team who will pick No. 1 overall. Next pick is No. 2. And so on until we reach all 30. You can make the second round the inverse order of record if you want ... but stop rewarding bad teams with great players. Stop rewarding tanking.
What would be even better (funnier) is that instead of Silver, you have the team with the worst record pull out the first envelope/card. The team with the second worst record make the second selection. Then keep that going. The fear of those reps from the bad teams mixed with the celebratory nature of the teams who moved way up would be fantastic. It would make for great television, something that is the whole point of Silver's NBA land.
Maybe go one further. Maybe give every team one ping pong ball for this lottery. Than give the team that wins the NBA Cup (which I'm not a big fan of) get a second ping pong ball. When that lottery happens, the Cup winner has double the chance of everyone at grabbing a better pick. Then go true lottery on everyone and have those ping pong balls fly to the 30 spots to see where each pick lands. Or just one hole where each ball ascends one at a time.
That's for the TV guys to decide, but having every team in the lottery with flat odds in the way I want to go. I don't care if the Thunder wins the top pick. Cool. Let them take Cam Boozer or Darryn Peterson. We saw the Pistons be able to draft Milicic (that story would be stronger had they taken Carmelo Anthony, Chris Bosh or Dwyane Wade instead). So why not let good teams make these great picks?
That could really help those middle-class teams. Imagine, for example, the Timberwolves winning one of the top picks and able to inject Boozer, Peterson, AJ Dybantsa or Caleb Wilson on their roster. Or the Nuggets being able to grab one of those guys. Or even the Orlando Magic or Los Angeles Lakers. What if the Knicks could move up and get a Dybantsa? Why is that a bad thing? Is that worse than the Wizards globbing through another meh season?
Again, if you don't really care about tanking ... don't do anything. But if it is a reason you ball up your fist at the NBA, then just eliminate the incentive.
Remember the hit show Friends? The name of each episode always began with "The One Where ... " and then some moment from that week's program. The Super Bowl is sort of like that. Each Super Bowl has its own flavor. Its own memory. Sure, there is a lot more to a Super Bowl than just one play or one person, but there is usually a first thought that comes to mind.
So here is the Super Bowl episodes: I-THE ONE THAT WAS THE FIRST ONE
This wasn't even called the Super Bowl. It was the NFL/AFL World Championship game. The NFL was believed to be the superior conference and the Packers' 35-10 spanking of the Chiefs proved it.
II-THE ONE THAT VINCE LOMBARDI WAS CARRIED OFF THE FIELD
The Packers easily handled the Oakland Raiders to win their 2nd straight Super Bowl. The game would be the last for Vince Lombardi in Green Bay. He would be the GM the following year before returning to coaching with the Washington Redskins in 1969. He died in 1970.
III-THE ONE WHERE JOE NAMATH WON
Obviously, Super Bowl III will always be remembered as the one where the AFL beat the NFL in the title game. Joe Namath's guarantee was spot on as the Jets beat the Colts and legitimized the AFL's existence.
IV-THE ONE WHERE HANK STRAM WAC MIC'D
Chiefs head coach Hank Stram was wearing a microphone as his team beat the Vikings in Super Bowl IV. The sounds that they got were priceless. "You can't do that in our league!"
V-THE ONE WITH ALL THE MISTAKES
This was the Blunder Bowl. There were 11 turnovers in this one. The Cowboys set a record with 10 penalties. There was even a missed PAT. This is still the only Super Bowl were a player on the losing team won the MVP award.
VI-THE ONE WITH THE PRESIDENTIAL PLAY
Richard Nixon called Dolphins coach Don Shula and drew up a play. The Dolphins ran it ... and it didn't work.
VII-THE ONE UNDEFEATED SEASON
Of course, Super Bowl VII is most noted as the one season where we saw an undefeated team. The Miami Dolphins beat the Washington Redskins in a rather boring, non-descript game to finish the year 17-0. There, of course, was the Garo Yepremian botched kick that turned into the lone Washington touchdown.
VIII-THE ONE WITH CZONKA
Hard to believe now, the the Miami Dolphins won this Super Bowl with a quarterback that threw just 7 passes. Bob Griese did complete six of those passes in the 24-7 win over the Vikings. This was Czonka's night. Czonka ran for a then-record 33 times for a then-record 145 yards. IX-THE ONE WHERE THE STEEL CURTAIN ARRIVES
Super Bowl IX was unattractive. The Vikings offense was pitiful and the game was a defensive struggle. But Steelers back Franco Harris broke Czonka's records from the prior game (34 rushes, 154 yards) to begin one of the greatest dynasties in NFL history.
X-THE ONE WITH LYNN SWANN'S CATCH
We all know that Swann catch. The tip. The fall. The beauty. XI-THE ONE WITH THE RAIDERS
The Raiders returned to the Super Bowl for the first time since Super Bowl II. That tough, physical (sometimes dirty) defense mixed with a gun-slinging offense won a championship. The game and the players were iconic. From John Madden to Kenny Stabler to Willie Brown's huge pick-six. When we all think of the Raiders, this game comes to mind. That's how Al Davis would want it.
XII-THE ONE WHERE ROBERT NEWHOUSE THROWS A TD
Super Bowl XII was the first to be played indoors and the first to be played at night. It also featured a nice touchdown pass by Cowboys' running back Robert Newhouse. That was the first TD pass thrown by a running back in a Super Bowl.
XIII-THE ONE WHERE JACKIE SMITH DROPPED A TD PASS
There are great plays in the Super Bowl, but there are some huge blunders (more will be on this list). One of the biggest was Cowboys' tight end Jackie Smith dropping a sure touchdown pass late in Super Bowl XIII. Dallas settled for a field goal instead, and they ended up losing by 4.
XIV-THE ONE WITH STALLWORTH'S GRAB
The 1970s had closed and with it some of the greatest teams in NFL history. The Steelers were the best among them. This Super Bowl was surprisingly in doubt late. The Rams actually held a 19-17 lead going into the 4th quarter when Terry Bradshaw completed a 73-yard TD pass to John Stallworth to give the Steelers a lead they would never relinquish.
XV-THE ONE WITH PETE ROZELLE HANDING THE TROPHY TO AL DAVIS
The Raiders were back in the Super Bowl, but this was a bit different. Before the season, NFL commish Pete Rozelle had didn't allow the Raiders to move from Oakland to Los Angeles. Al Davis and the Raiders then sued the NFL, citing the league's anti-trust laws. The Raiders would later win, but there was quite the tension between the two men for several years. So the anticipation of Pete Rozelle handing the Super Bowl trophy to Al Davis was at a fever pitch. It happened, without any incident.
XVI-THE ONE WHERE IT WAS FREEZING
The game was played in Pontiac, Michigan at the Silverdome. Good thing, since this was a very cold day. Only the second Super Bowl to that point that didn't take place in either Miami, New Orleans or the Los Angeles area and the first to take place in a cold-weather city. The fans, of course, were fine inside the stadium but a snowy weekend caused a nightmare for fans and media to get to the game.
XVII-THE ONE WITH JOHN RIGGINS RUN
I Right, 70 Chip. That was the play Redskins' coach Joe Gibbs called on 4th-and-1 in the 4th quarter and Washington trailing 17-13 to the Dolphins. The play saw John Riggins not only pick up the 1st down, but he lumbered to a TD and a Super Bowl title. XVIII-THE ONE WHERE MARCUS ALLEN TORE IT UP ON BLACK SUNDAY
The Redskins were back in the Super Bowl, but they would not repeat their title. No, Marcus Allen and the Los Angeles Raiders ran all over Washington to a 38-9 win. The game is also known for the Apple commercial, 1984, where ads became as synonymous with Super Bowl Sunday as the game itself. But it was Allen's 191 yards rushing and 2 TDs ... one of which was a wicked 74-yd TD scamper ... that won the day.
XIX-THE ONE WHERE ROGER CRAIG HIGH STEPS FOR A TD
Roger Craig scored 3 touchdowns in Super Bowl XIX, a blowout of Dan Marino's Dolphins. But the most memorable moment was Craig high-stepping into the endzone for his final score.
XX-THE ONE WITH THE SUPER BOWL SHUFFLE
The 1985 Chicago Bears are legendary. That team nearly went undefeated and blew through the postseason. They were so dominant that they made this video before even winning the Super Bowl. It was brash, but it fit this team so well. Hard to believe that not only was this the Bears lone title, but this group didn't even get to another Super Bowl.
XXI-THE ONE WITH THE GATORADE SHOWER
It is ubiquitous. Winning teams douse the coach with a cooler full of Gatorade. Heck, now you can even bet on the color of Gatorade that gets dumped. However, it was this Giants team that made it a thing. They dumped it all over Bill Parcells after each of their victories in 1986, including their Super Bowl XXI victory of the Denver Broncos.
XXII-THE ONE WITH THAT SECOND QUARTER
Still my favorite quarter of football (ed. note: I'm a Redskins fan). The Redskins trailed 10-0 to the Broncos heading into the 2nd quarter when the Redskins would pile on 35 points. Doug Williams completed 9 or 11 passes for 228 yards and 4 TDs ... in that quarter alone! Timmy Smith, a nobody, rushed for 122 yards and Ricky Sanders caught 168 yards worth of passes (and two TDs) in that quarter. This Super Bowl featured the biggest deficit a winning team ever faced (since tied), the most rushing yards by a player (Smith) and Williams was the first African-American quarterback to win a Super Bowl (it took 26 years before it happened again).
XXIII-THE ONE WITH JOHN CANDY
One of the greatest Super Bowls, this game featured one of the best lines ever. With the 49ers trailing the Bengals 16-13 with just over 3 minutes left in the game, Joe Montana gets into the huddle and says, "hey, isn't that John Candy?" San Francisco would then go on an 11-play, 92-yd drive that ended with a John Taylor touchdown catch and Montana's 3rd Super Bowl title.
XXIV-THE ONE WITH THE BLOWOUT
The Niners repeated their championship with a blowout of the Broncos, Denver's third Super Bowl loss in four years. San Fran won 55-10, which remains the most points scored by a team in Super Bowl history and the largest margin of victory. It may also be the greatest matchup of quarterbacks in Super Bowl history as Joe Montana faced John Elway. Add in Steve Young's mop-up duty and it is a shoo-in.
XXV-THE ONE WITH WHITNEY AND SCOTT
This Super Bowl is remembered for two things: Whitney Houston's rendition of the National Anthem and Scott Norwood's missed field goal to end the game. Not much more I can tell you about it.
XXVI-THE ONE WITHOUT THURMAN THOMAS' HELMET
The Bills were back in the Super Bowl and they felt they were ready to beat the Redskins. Well, except that their star running back couldn't find his helmet and was missing from the opening Buffalo drive. That wasn't the only miscue to start this game (botched kicks from both teams, namely) but the Redskins cruised to a title.
XXVII-THE ONE WITH LEON LETT
Or you could say "The One With Don Beebe". This utter spanking the Cowboys gave the Bills is mostly forgettable, but it should've been worse as Leon Lett let a sure TD return go awry when he was showboating and Bills' receiver Don Beebe chased him down and forced a fumble into the endzone.
XXVIII-THE ONE WHERE THE BILLS CEMENT HISTORY
Most people don't remember too much about this Super Bowl. Yes, Atlanta had an ice storm during Super Bowl week and Emmitt Smith had a big day. But this is known for the Bills final appearance in a Super Bowl ... four games in four years. The Bills actually held a halftime lead, but Dallas outscored them 24-0 in the 2nd half. XXIX-THE ONE WITH THE MONKEY OFF STEVE YOUNG'S BACK
Steve Young is one of the best quarterbacks of the Super Bowl era, but people were giving him a lot of grief for not winning the big one. Fair, since the Niners chose Young when they cut ties with Joe Montana. Young did it with a record setting performance.
XXX-THE ONE WITH NEIL O'DONNELL
Other quarterbacks have had bad Super Bowls. But Neil O'Donnell was giving the Cowboys this one despite the Steelers outplaying Dallas. Three interceptions, including two that made Larry Brown into a household name. It got Brown a huge free agent contract with the Raiders. Ironically, this was O'Donnell's final game with the Steelers as he would leave for the Jets. XXXI-THE ONE WITH BRETT FAVRE
Brett Favre's biggest moment was the Packers' 35-21 win over the Patriots in Super Bowl XXXI. While Favre wasn't the MVP (Desmond Howard was) or the most dominant player on the field (Reggie White was), Favre got loose. He threw TD passes of 54 and 81 yards and his celebrating became part of his legend.
XXXII-THE ONE WHERE JOHN ELWAY'S FLIP
John Elway lost three Super Bowls in the early part of his career which came in three of four seasons. Since the 1989 season, it took nearly a decade to get back. Elway faced the defending champion Packers and were also trying to end the AFC's 13-year losing streak in the Super Bowl. Late in the 17-17 game, Elway scrambled to pick up a 1st down and did his famous Helicopter Flip. The flip showed how badly he wanted this and the Broncos would finish off the win.
XXXIII-THE ONE WHERE ELWAY LEAVES
Not much stands out about Super Bowl XXXIII other than an unfortunate pre-game incident involving a well-respected Falcons player and the fact that John Elway left on top. As of now, it is the moment pointed to when a veteran wins a title. Do you leave now on top? It was asked to Tim Duncan when the Spurs won the 2014 NBA title. Hardly any athlete, especially of that stature, gets to even make a decision like this. Elway did.
XXXIV-THE ONE THAT NEEDED ONE MORE YARD
One of the most thrilling endings in a Super Bowl, the Titans were "one yard short" to tying Super Bowl XXXIV. Trailing the Rams 23-16 with no timeouts and just six seconds left. Steve McNair threw a pass over the middle to Kevin Dyson. Rams linebacker Mike Jones held on to the tackle and stopped Dyson on the 1-yard line as time expired.
XXXV-THE ONE WITH THREE TOUCHDOWNS ON THREE PLAYS
The Ravens defense was all-time great, but this game will be most remembered as the game with three TDs on three consecutive plays. The first one was the Ravens Duane Starks picking off Kerry Collins and returning it for a 49-yd touchdown. On the ensuing kickoff, the Giants' Ron Dixon returned it 97 yards for a TD. The following kickoff, the Ravens' Jermaine Lewis returned that kick for a TD. Amazing. In three plays, a 10-0 game turned into a 24-7 Baltimore lead. XXXVI-THE ONE THE PATRIOTS WON THE 9/11 GAME
This Super Bowl was pushed back a week due to the NFL moving a week of games after the attack on September 11th. The Patriots were a Cinderella team who made the Super Bowl with a young, backup quarterback named Tom Brady and a some close calls in the playoffs. They then get to face the Greatest Show On Turf Rams, who were 14 point favorites. The Patriots and Tom Brady pulled off the upset with Adam Vinatieri's 48-yd field goal as time ran out for the improbable win.
XXXVII-THE ONE THAT'S THE GRUDEN BOWL
In the offseason, the Oakland Raiders 'traded' Jon Gruden to the Tampa Bay Buccaneers. Oakland then hired assistant Bill Callahan. Who knew the two teams would face off in the Super Bowl? No one knew that, but Gruden apparently knew the Raiders' playbook hadn't changed since he left and Tampa jumped all over Oakland, forcing five turnovers and a dominant win. XXXVIII-THE ONE WITH THE WARDROBE MALFUNCTION
Forget that the Patriots and Panthers played in one of the most exciting Super Bowls ever, this game will be forever known for Janet Jackson's boob showing during the halftime show and all the ramifications since. XXXIX-THE ONE WHERE DONOVAN MCNABB "THREW UP"
This one is an urban legend that has people on both sides of the debate. Did Donovan McNabb throw up during that final drive to tie Super Bowl XXXIX (which failed)?
XL-THE ONE THE REFS HAD A BAD GAME
The Steelers and Seahawks met in Detroit, but what many people remember is the questionable officiating. Both sides complained about calls, though the feeling among most is that Seattle got the raw end of the deal. At the time, I called this the worst Super Bowl ever.
XLI-THE ONE IN THE RAIN
There are a few bigger moments in this one. It was Peyton Manning's lone Super Bowl win. It was also the one where Devin Hester ran the opening kickoff back for a touchdown. But it was also the one Super Bowl that truly was in the elements. The one Super Bowl played in rain. While it certainly wasn't a monsoon out there, it was quite slick out there. And that rain played a cool part in one of the greatest halftime shows ever -- Prince.
XLII-THE ONE THE PATRIOTS LOST THEIR PERFECT SEASON
Yes, David Tyree's catch is the moment of this Super Bowl. But the catch's greatness is magnified by who it was against. The 17-0 Patriots were attempting to be just the 2nd undefeated team ever and first to win 18 games. But that catch and some other big plays after it ruined the Patriots great season.
XLIII-THE ONE WITH SANTONIO HOLMES' CATCH
The Steelers have had some great catches in Super Bowl history. But this Santonio Holmes TD snag with 35 seconds left may be the best. It negated a wild 4th quarter rally by the Arizona Cardinals and gave Pittsburgh their record 6th Super Bowl title.
XLIV-THE ONE DREW BREES HELD UP HIS SON
There may not be a better moment than seeing Drew Brees hold up his young son while confetti falls down in Miami for the Saints Super Bowl title. Sure, there was the surprise onside kick and the Tracy Porter pick-six, but this picture captures this game.
XLV-THE ONE AT JERRY WORLD
Cowboy Stadium seemed like a great place to have a Super Bowl, especially this one. It is huge and can accommodate the huge Packers and Steelers fanbases. However, an icy winter storm crippled North Texas and even put the game in some jeopardy. There was also a big stink about people who bought tickets for the game who had to sit outside the stadium and watch since their seats weren't ready by game time. Also, there is nothing more Dallas Cowboys than their cheerleaders. Well, since both the Packers and Steelers are among the six teams who don't employ cheerleaders, there weren't any at the Super Bowl ... a first.
XLVI-THE ONE WHERE THE GIANTS DID IT AGAIN
Four years ago, the Giants upset the undefeated Patriots to win their 3rd Super Bowl. This time, the 9-7 Giants became the team with the worst record to win a Super Bowl.
XLVII-THE ONE WHERE THE LIGHTS WENT OUT IN NEW ORLEANS
This is an interesting Super Bowl for all kinds of reasons. First off, the Ravens had a 28-6 after returning the 2nd half opening kickoff back for a TD. Then the 49ers had a furious comeback and nearly tied it at 31 late (a 2-pt conversion failed to keep it 31-29). What happened in between was a Super Bowl first -- the power went out in the Superdome. A 34-minute delay after the Ravens took that 28-6 lead rocked the game.
XLVIII-THE ONE THAT WAS PLAYED IN NEW YORK
Yes, this was the one where the Seahawks completely dismantled the Broncos (and nearly became The One Where A Team Was Shutout), but everything leading up to and during the game was about it being in the New York area. The first (and only) cold weather outdoor Super Bowl. Actually, it had just the 3rd coldest kickoff ever and there really wasn't any other weather issues.
XLIX-THE ONE WHERE MARSHAWN LYNCH DIDN'T GET THE BALL
One yard. One yard.
50- THE ONE WHERE DENVER'S OFFENSE STUNK YET WON ANYWAY
This will long be remembered as Peyton Manning's second title and his final game of a remarkable career. It was also the worst offensive game for a winning team in Super Bowl history. They set Super Bowl records for the least yards and first downs for a winner. They were 1-of-14 on third down. Really, both offenses and quarterbacks stunk making this a very ugly Super Bowl.
LI-THE ONE WITH THE GREATEST COMEBACK
You all know the memes of the Falcons blowing a 28-3 lead to lose this game 34-28. Not only was this easily the greatest comeback in Super Bowl history, it was also the first overtime game in Super Bowl history. Maybe the most stunning title game ever.
LII-THE ONE WITH THE PHILLY SPECIAL
The Eagles were up 15-12 with 38 seconds left in the first half when they faced a 4th down and goal at the 2 yard line when they ran a beautiful trick play. Philly quarterback Nick Foles lined up in shotgun before approaching the line for what looks like him barking out blocking assignments. Instead the ball is snapped to running back Corey Clement who ran wide and pitched it to a reversing tight end Trey Burton who tossed it to Foles who was wide open in the end zone. A gutsy play and the made Foles the first quarterback with a touchdown catch and the first player to throw a TD and catch one in Super Bowl history.
LIII-THE ONE WHERE NO ONE COULD SCORE
This Super Bowl featured the lowest total score (16 points), lowest score by a winner (13) and latest in a game their first touchdown was scored (7 minutes left in the 4th quarter). This game had the fewest touchdowns in a Super Bowl, fewest PATs and only two kickoff returns. The Rams set a record for punts. All that during an era where offenses zing up and down the field, we had a tough defensive battle where neither team could get much going.
LIV-THE ONE WITH THE CHIEFS EPIC 4TH QUARTER
The San Francisco 49ers entered the 4th quarter with a 20-10 lead and were seemingly in control of the game. That was until less than 9 minutes through the period when Patrick Mahomes and the Chiefs scored touchdowns on three straight drives. Kansas City would win the game, 31-20.
LV-THE ONE DURING THE PANDEMIC
This will also be known as Tom Brady's final Super Bowl and his only one with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, but the 31-9 victory is more well known for who wasn't there: fans. Only 25,000 fans were able to attend the game due to COVID-19 restrictions that forced most of the games played that season to be in front of sparse crowds or no fans. Approximately 7,500 of the 25,000 fans at the game were first responders. This was also the first Super Bowl to be played at one of the participant's home stadium.
LVI-THE ONE WITH STAFFORD TO KUPP
With the Bengals leading Super Bowl LVI 20-16 late in the 4th quarter, the Rams decided the best way to win it was to put the ball in the hands of Matthew Stafford and Cooper Kupp. On the game winning drive, Stafford completed four passes to Kupp, had two pass attempts to Kupp draw pass interference penalties from the Bengals, had another pass to Kupp nullified by offsetting penalties, and Kupp rushed for 7 yards on a 4th and 1. It ended with a Kupp TD grab to give Los Angeles the 23-20 win.
LVII-THE ONE THAT WAS THE KELCE BOWL
This was a great game, with a high scoring 38-35 final that saw a lot of punches and return punches. But it will be known as the Kelce Bowl as brothers Jason (Eagles center) and Travis (Chiefs TE) became the first brothers to face off as player in a Super Bowl. It was also the Andy Reid Bowl, as Reid became just the fifth head coach to face his former team in the Super Bowl (only Reid and Dan Reeves faced a franchise they had also lead to a Super Bowl).
LVIII-THE ONE WITH TAYLOR SWIFT
There was so much to love about this game. The scoring went back and forth, we had the second OT in Super Bowl history (making it the longest Super Bowl in history), we got the new OT scoring rules, and the Chiefs became the first repeat champs since the Patriots 20 years earlier. But this game is known for the Taylor Swift effect. Swift started dating Chiefs tight end Travis Kelce during the 2023 season and her presence at games took NFL viewership to astronomical levels. People who normally didn't watch football became fans just because of Swift. It was the largest TV broadcast in America since the Moon landing.
LIX-THE ONE WITH THE TWARTED THREE-PEAT
The Kansas City Chiefs became the first team to play in a Super Bowl after winning the previous two. However, the Philadelphia Eagles had other plans than the allow Patrick Mahomes to record the first three-peat in the Super Bowl era. The Eagles defense mauled Mahomes, while Jalen Hurts and the Eagles offense continued to carve up the league. Hurts set a record with 72 rushing yards by a QB.
LX-THE ONE WITH BAD BUNNY
The Seahawks' dominant defense suffocated the Patriots, 29-13, but this game will be most remembered for the halftime show "controversy". Once it was announced that Latin pop star Bad Bunny would be performing, there was some outcry about the fact he only sang in Spanish. Turning Point USA would create a pre-recorded show to counter the NFL's show.